A few years ago, a friend on a vegetarian forum posted about a song she was singing at the top of her lungs while in her car. A song that was nonsensical (if I remember correctly) but which she loved because it was exactly the kind of song you sing at the top of your lungs when no one is around to hear, and which makes you feel better, for whatever reason.

She didn’t have it on cd, so she was listening to it on her mp3 player.

And on this particular day, it was a gorgeous day, so she had the windows down. She was at a stoplight, singing full volume. It didn’t occur to her until after she got a very very strange look from a pedestrian how it must have seemed to be singing a song in Romanian (her native language) at the top of her lungs, singing along with a song only she could hear!

This is the song:

It makes me smile too. I had her send me the lyrics and the translation at one point, but I seem to have lost both.

There is also a Russian remix of it (haiducii is extremely popular in eastern europe, it seems!), which I like even better – a bit faster, a bit more techno, and it gets me moving and singing, even though about the only thing I can pick out properly is “hallo” and “vodka”.

This was a week that was both good and bad. Some frustrating incidents on the bike, with assholes honking at me, but the biking just feels so good that even that is just an annoyance. Work followed a similar pattern, more satisfying due to having more work to do and thus feeling more productive, but I had an incident or three with one of my team members that was extremely annoying. I’ve had issues with him in the past, but other times he’s great to work with. It means that I avoid asking him for help, because I don’t know which version of him I’ll be faced with.

I was pissed off enough at his latest shennanigans that I was still pissed off the next day, with 2 bike rides in between! Maybe I wouldn’t have been if I hadn’t been honked at on both rides. But I was, and I told a coworker about it briefly. She mentioned, with no details, that she’d heard that about him from other people too, though she’d never witnessed it first hand.

And that made me feel better. It’s not just me, you know?

Sorrow had a difficult day this week also. As I read her post tonight, my iPod was playing in shuffle mode in the background, and the russian remix of dragostea din tai came on. Sorrow’s post and the song both inspired this post of mine. Give the song(s) a whirl, but clear out your living room first, so you can twirl and jump and do whatever else the music moves you to. You’ll feel better, at least for a few minutes. I promise.

