I had to work today.

A Sunday.

My weekend!

But I knew it was going to happen at some point, and really it wasn’t all bad. I was able to arrange so that I didn’t have to get in until 1, which was good, because I had company all weekend. He was heading to the bus around the time I’d have to leave for work anyway, so that was okay. And it was a gorgeous afternoon.

“I can’t believe you rode today! You’ll spend almost as much time riding as at work!”

I don’t know what I could ever do to convince people, because my words have no effect. Riding is not a chore. Yes, it is something I believe in strongly. It is fun, but I don’t do it just because it is fun, I do it because it is the right thing to do, to further reduce the toll I take on this earth. That’s important to me, and frankly while I wish it was important to others, I really don’t have enough time to care. I’m tired of fielding the amazement.

Because honestly, what I find amazing is that people willingly choose to forgo a beautiful afternoon when they could get a couple hours exercise in the bright bright sun on a near perfect riding day to sit inside a glass and steel cage.

Why?

No, I don’t understand their amazement.

