Or perhaps an E.T. – Luke Skywalker hybrid.

I rode my bike this morning, as normal. I overheard a coworker saying to someone else that I am “a trooper” for riding this morning.

Confused.

It was about 45F when I left my condo, “feels like 41”, if weather.com is to be believed. I wore a long sleeve cotton t-shirt and an unlined windbreaker. I wore lightweight full finger riding gloves, and a skull cap to go under my helmet and cover my ears. I was almost too warm, thanks to the hills I ride up. The body generates an astounding amount of heat when it is working hard. I get cold easily, it is sort of a joke among friends and coworkers. I have a heater under my desk at work, and I run it even in the summer, because I often feel chilly despite my 2 layers and long sleeves that I wear at work. People will tell me “it is 80 outside!” Which I find perplexing. My desk is not outside.

So I’m a wimp when it comes to the cold. I loved the brutal heat of Arizona, the sun that felt like it would burrow through the layers of me, to nestle in my very bones.

I’m a wimp when it comes to the cold, and a long sleeve t-shirt and lightweight windbreaker were almost too warm for me this morning.

This does not make me a trooper! If it was 40 *below* I would understand better!

And then later I was telling a couple coworkers about my “light finger” (aka helmet lamp) that I point at people in the mornings to make sure they see me. “Sit! Stay!” is what I’m thinking.

My coworkers couldn’t decide if I sounded like Luke Skywalker with his light saber, or E.T. with his finger.

So. I’m either a masochist, a superhero, or some weird incomprehensible being from another planet.

Not sure I want to know what anyone else thinks!

