I had no idea Chicago was such a pretty town. I’d never been before, and so when I had the chance to go to a conference in Chicago, I wasn’t all that excited about the location. It was fairly convenient, since it was just a 2 hour flight, but I was all about the conference itself. I decided not to stay any extra time because my attitude was essentially, “it’s Chicago, why blow vacation time on it?”

While I can’t say that I regret not taking vacation time to explore Chicago, I can say that I will definitely go back someday and play the tourist.

I found the city aesthetically pleasing, and I’ve been trying to figure out what it was that made it different for me. The water, certainly. I think in terms of the buildings, there was a great mix of the sort of airy glass towers and the weighty historical buildings with that special wedding-cake type detailing that no one spends the time or money on anymore.

Whatever it was, it worked.

And the bikes!

Bikes, bikes, everywhere!

Yes, I’ll definitely be back someday.

