On one of the many bike blogs I now read, there were some links to rankings of bike friendly places. I am always interested to read these kinds of things, because my roots are not yet set, and part of me is always wondering where my real home will be.

Of course if I keep moving, there never will be a “real home”, but whatever. It is perhaps my Quest.

roadrunner

roadrunner

Which isn’t to say I think there is a perfect place, just that there might be a place that is a better fit for me than most places.

Anyway, on the rankings of bike friendly states, I was surprised and pleased to see that Arizona was #3! Ahead of Oregon, even, home to what many call the bike mecca – Portland. Portland has so many bike commuters that there is actually a bike rush hour. No joke.

But Arizona! Arizona is a place near and dear to my heart. I’ve lived there twice (so far), for a measly total of five years. There is something about it, though, it has often felt more like home than most of the other places on my list of where-I’ve-lived. I read someone describe how they felt about Utah, which resonated with how I feel about Arizona. This was someone who had grown up in Utah and now lives in Alaska (talk about opposite extremes!), and despite that they adore the cold and most everything that is Alaska, they said that there is something about the red dust of Utah, that it seeps into your very soul if you spend much time there.

That’s how I feel about Arizona.

moonrise

moonrise

My parents are retired there, so there’s always the potential that I’ll have a need to move there for them, at some point. I’m hoping it never gets to that point, that they’ll always be independent, and regardless I’d hope that it isn’t in question for another twenty years, at least.

Only time will tell. Literally.

Arizona #3 in bike friendliness.

I have to admit it surprises me. I never knew bike commuters in Arizona, and I didn’t really know anyone who did much in the way of mountain biking. The cholla and prickly pears might have been something of a deterrent. I do remember there being club-type bikers who would ride up the big hill into my parents retirement community, and there is the “Tour de Tucson” every year as well.

cholla

cholla

Still, it surprises me. Though it is just as likely I wasn’t really paying attention, then.

The more telling ranking, perhaps, go to the listing of bike-friendly communities. The communities have to apply for this, and it apparently isn’t easy to get the various gold, silver, bronze, etc awards. And no Arizona community is listed there.

