This is a personal request. I mean, yeah, please stop talking, dialing, and texting on your cell phones while you’re driving, because you’re going to kill someone, but this is a different kind of personal request.

Please do not talk on your cell phone in public bathrooms.

I know I’m not the first to have experienced this, but today it was extremely disconcerting at work to walk in to the bathroom and have someone in the next stall chatting away on her cell phone.

I could hear his responses. I imagine he could hear my contributions to the conversation. Luckily they were not speaking English, they were not speaking a language I’m familiar with, so if they had that “are you on your phone in a bathroom?” conversation, I was blissfully unaware.

It was still embarrassing.

For me, and my god, how could it not be for her and him?

I don’t get it.

I don’t talk on the phone with my parents while going to the bathroom. I certainly wouldn’t choose to do so with a stranger.

So please, for those oh so personal conversations that you are having on your phone, take them outside. You can pee for each other at home, in private. I really don’t want to be involved.

