My muscles have been screaming. Especially my hamstrings and my shoulders. The most comfortable mode of travel for me is definitely on the bike, yet my hamstrings still complain on the bike.

Today on the ride home I came as close to giving up as I think I ever have. It was mental as well as physical. I was mentally tired from two days of these stupid sore muscles, and I ran right into the strongest head wind I’ve ridden into in the past two months. And it stuck with me most of the ride. It was to the point where I wanted to yell at it, because I swear it was coming right at me, no matter which direction I was riding.

I made it up all the hills. I made it home. I have hobbled around getting ready for tomorrow, wondering all the while if this doesn’t qualify for a good reason to stay home altogether. I have made two kinds of cookies – one is a true dessert, the other is an energy bar in cookie shape. I made hummus, reeking of garlic with a raw tahini tang.

I’m prepared, I suppose, for riding to work tomorrow. I keep telling myself that it is always the worst on day two, which was today. I remind myself that the mornings are quieter and easier, mentally.

What I want is a vacation.

I was talking to a coworker at the end of the day, and we were talking about work. Work in the general sense, as in “isn’t there something better to do with my life?”

It is such a common question. I sometimes think about the millions or billions of us around the world who wonder every day “is this what my life is? 9 hours in a cubicle?”

It just seems to me that there must be a better way.

I have no answers, just challenges. My bike commuting is only half done this week. It is going to be a challenge to keep going, to finish off the week (at least through Thursday) on the bike. I’m stubborn enough to try.

