Hanna swept through, and while it was far far from a direct hit to the DC area, we did get a bit of rain.

I think I got 6-7″, actually.

What seemed strange to me was that it was all contained on Saturday. It started maybe at 7am, and it stopped sometime after 4pm. It was just a solid day of constant rain, sometimes an inch an hour.

And of course Saturday was the only day I had to be outside, so I got absolutely drenched at the sanctuary. It wasn’t cold, so I didn’t mind, and I’d brought a change of clothes for the ride home. I’m so glad I did that. When I took off my wet stuff, they were literally dripping, soaked through and through.

On the way home I had my doubts at a few intersections whether I’d be able to get through – they were close to flooding. And then closer to home the traffic stopped. I was worried that the road was flooded and it isn’t the kind of road with a lot of streets off of it, so if it had been flooded, I’m not sure how many hours it would have taken for all of us to get off that road.

Turns out it wasn’t flooded. It was a tree down. When I finally scooted by, it was clear that we were able to drive past in the left lane only because someone had broken the top of the tree enough that we could drive over the remnants.

I read an article not too long ago that talked about bikes being the best “escape transportation” out of disaster areas because when faced with a downed tree or similar obstacle, you could more easily go around or even just life the bike up and over. I thought about that as we slowly merged into one lane to get around this downed tree. At some point I’ll rig up a way to carry my cat on my bike. And then I’ll know that in a worst case scenario, we can pedal off into the sunset.

