I’m in the middle of reading “Radical Acceptance“, which was recommended to me by my therapist. It is a good book, practical in its way, and focused on (as you might expect) helping us think about ourselves differently. Accepting ourselves.

This world seems focused on perfection, performance, production. I fall in the same trap. How can we not?

Accepting ourselves in this society, in this world, in this place and time… it is not an automatic thing. It is not an easy thing either. That doesn’t mean it is not important, however.

So, anyway, I’m reading this book, and I can absolutely understand why my therapist invited me to read it. I’m quoted in it, over and over, you see. I bet you are too. I think we all are.

And one of the quotes that was not from me, but from Carl Rogers, has been swirling in my head for a while.

The curious paradox is that when I accept myself just as I am, then I can change.

glasses

