I have found a way around the big hill. It is a bit longer, but it is bikable, and it likely takes less time than it does to walk the bike up the hill. It is certainly both more enjoyable and less painful.

I was writing an entirely different post tonight, full of angst and emotion about my day at work today. And it strikes me that maybe it is just a different kind of big hill, and I need to find a way around it as well.

Nope, I don’t know what that means, not yet. I have a feeling it is related to something Utah Phillips said.

“Toil is what you do for somebody else; work is what you do for yourself,” he explained. “One of the struggles of life is finding your own work, and you’ve got to do a lot of different kinds of toil to do that. But sooner or later, once you’ve understood and found what your work is, you pick up the phone and call in well.”

