I started craving some color on my patio, so I stopped at the store on my way home today and picked up some flowers. I had a really nice time wandering the aisles deciding what to get. I have a feeling I’ll go back and get more, but I’m glad I only got a few plants today. I exhausted myself planting them, mostly because it also inspired me to finish weeding almost the entire rest of the patio. The person who lived here before me put smallish whitish rocks over the entire patio, which looks nice enough, but is brutal to weed. I have to move the rocks aside from small areas to get to the weeds, and my hands get torn up and bruised after a while.

lilies

But…it is (mostly) done…until the weeds grow again. Which they always do!

There is so much more I want to do with the patio, but I’m in no hurry. It will develop slowly, and likely will never be finished. It is really satisfying to think about the ongoing relationship I’ll have with my garden, as odd as that might sound. A thousand thank yous to my realator, who understood better than I did at the time just how valuable I’d find having a patio.

And as I was weeding, I found an unexpected resident! I think we scared each other, but I was able to get a couple shots off before he left.

snake in garden

