I’m spoiled with regards to museums. The Smithsonians (of which there are many) are free. Always. Every day. For everyone.

And they’re actually damn good museums. I’ve been to the National Gallery of Art many times, and one of the really nice things about free museums is that you can run through for 30 minutes or however long you have, or your brain can take, and come back another day for more. Today I went to the National Portrait Gallery to see the Hip Hop portrait exhibit. My photography teacher had talked about it. It was very interesting. There were some painters, some photographers, a music and video room, and one room that showcased graffiti, or maybe it would be considered street art. It wasn’t just that, though, it was also the poem/spoken word by a woman-whose-name-I-forget-at-the-moment, who paints a picture of what it is to be a street artist. It was all very interesting.

The photographer had concentrated on concert portraits of musicians. There were a few that made me feel like I was looking at the spirit of the musician rather than their physical bodies, which is a pretty cool thing to convey if you ask me!

portrait at a concert, national portrait gallery

The painter, though, seemed to capture something extra for me. When I first saw this painting, I just stopped and stared. The three apples. The three men. My first thought was “the three graces?” I couldn’t remember if that was the right Greek myth that I had in my mind. I walked closer. The painting was titled “The Three Graces”.

the three graces, a painting

The funny thing is that I believe I was thinking of something else entirely. It was pure luck that my mind came up with the three graces! Interestingly, a little research showed just how traditional this grouping was! Check out Raphael’s version!

It wasn’t until I got home and looked at this picture more that I really saw and started to think about the social statement being made by the three graces representing three different sports. These might be somewhat famous people in their respective sports as well – I’m pretty much clueless when it comes to that. I’m not sure if it would matter anyway.

Well, the exhibit did exactly what it was supposed to do – it gave me food for thought, as well as an introduction to some artists I’d never heard of.

