I went on a “photo safari” this weekend, and we went around taking pictures in some of the metros. It was fun, the other people were nice, and the guy leading the safari was pretty good about talking to us about shutter speeds and iso and white balance for indoor lighting and mixed lighting. He’d also talked to the metro managers ahead of time and gotten permission for us, since they are going to look suspiciously at a group of people hanging around taking pictures of the trains!

taking pictures in metro station

At the time I didn’t feel like I learned that much from the guy leading the safari,  yet I know that the experience overall definitely helped me learn better how to use ISO in low light situations, and it also gave me quite a bit of practice in capturing movement, using shutter speed to blur movement.

train in metro
