Sorrow tagged me with this book meme, for which I’ll copy the rules.

Rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

I have piles and piles of books around me all the time. In all the places I spend time. On and around my bed, around my computer, everywhere! I try to clean up the piles, but then I go to the bookstore, the library, some books come in from half.com or from the independent publisher who sends me books every month, and I’m back to piles.

So, I had to decide which pile to grab a book from. I decided on the ones that were literally closest to me as I sat at my computer. Of course I’m a bit of a geek lately, so the first four books I grabbed were code books (*waves at half.com*) and while I’d have no problem posting some code for the dubious enjoyment of others, pages 123 for each of them didn’t have enough sentences or lines of code!

And so finally I got to The Tao of Photography: Seeing Beyond Seeing. And from p. 123, sentence 6, 7, 8:

It fortifies the photographer’s will to remain alert so that an exceptional moment can be captured on film. And it helps to reduce the habit of unawareness because the camera can only capture an image in the here and now: the photographer is compelled, moment by moment, to remain in tune with the present. As Cartier-Bresson explains, life is fluid and “sometimes the pictures disappear and there is nothing you can do. […]”

I love this book. If you’re curious, the “it” in the first sentence is camerawork, being argued as something the has the potential to facilitate the practice of mindfulness.

Okay, now I have to tag people. If you’ve been tagged already or just aren’t interested in this (or any) meme, no worries! I am always interested in what others are reading, but I certainly wouldn’t take it personally if someone isn’t interested in participating.

So my tags:

  • FightingWindmills: I’ve already gotten one good book recommendation from you!
  • Librarian Woes: library = a place of books! I know, I know, libraries are about more than books, but humor me!
  • Mister Peace: I’ve gotten a good book recommendation from you as well, and I figure if you are into writing, you’re into reading as well.
  • Ruby: rubz, I know you don’t like memes, but I also know you have a houseful of books! So you’re tagged just in case you’d be interested.
  • Abarclay: ’cause I expect it would come with a little craziness!
dogs on a beach
