A coworker’s antics make me think of some lines from The Joker:

Some people call me the space cowboy, yeah
Some call me the gangster of love
Some people call me maurice
Cause I speak of the pompitous of love

And then because my mind gets stuck on things like this, once I had the song in my head I started turning “pompitous” over and over in my mind. I’ve always sort of wondered, but now I had to find out…what does that mystery word mean? And what I found out was that a lot of people have wondered the same thing over the years!

In case you were wondering too, you can read up on it and follow the unraveling of the mystery. In fact, you’ll learn quite a bit about this song, and you can see how Steve Miller refers back to other songs.

One of the things I love about what I learned was this:

Although Miller claims he invented the word, all of his song-writing shows strong rhythm and blues influences, and a 1954 song called “The Letter” by the Medallions had the lines:

Oh my darling, let me whisper
sweet words of pizmotality
and discuss the puppetutes of love.

The song was composed by Vernon Green as a description of his dream woman. “Pizmotality described words of such secrecy that they could only be spoken to the one you loved,” Green explained.

Pizmotality. An odd word, but I love it. There’s just something about it.

I almost made myself late to my yoga class, getting caught up in Steve Miller and Vernon Green all over again. Here’s to pizmotality.

