I listen to music. Like, all the time. I somehow managed to run down the battery in my iPod overnight, so when I got to work it died after about 2 hours.

Not listening to music is not an option.

And so I went to one of the sites I go to fairly often for music, but I’d already listened to everything they’ve posted recently, and it is a click-for-each song kind of site which I was not really in the mood to relisten to. I wanted either something that would stream, or something new. Well, they have a lot of music blogs linked in, and I haven’t done much exploring of them, so I took it as an opportunity.

I came across Aurgasm, and oh. my. god. I love it! It is a wide mix of music, it is simple in interface, there are blurbs about the music and why it was chosen, and then a couple of songs from the group or artist chosen. The songs play right in the browser. There’s rap/hip-hop, classic, bluesish, and lots of french stuff, to name a few general genres. I am in love. I am excited. I encourage audiophiles to check it out! (I also think the name is awesome! Very cute, in the best possible way.)

But back to the usability of the site. I’ve browsed enough music blogs to know for myself, the usability is important. I can love the music and the writing, and still not go to a site very often, just because it is an annoying overall experience. This is not the case with Aurgasm.

And no wonder! There are four contributors listed, but the main character seems to be Paul Irish. In his “About”, it says this:

Aurgasm brings to you an eclectic menagerie of aural pleasures. I scout out music you’ve never heard and deliver only the finest. Expect music curiously different, yet simply enjoyable.

And he isn’t kidding when he says he delivers only the finest!

If you click to get more information, you’ll find out that:

His interests include: user experience design, emerging web trends, ecommerce, branding, maps, product design, typography, information design/overload, & sustainability.

That “user experience design”? Yeah, that’s what I’m talking about!

Kudos to Paul; Aurgasm is a site that is a great experience, from the music to the web design. He doesn’t need me to say this, though. He’s gotten recognition from PC Magazine, and other publications infinitely more widely read than me. Perhaps even infinite to the infinite power. Nevertheless, I’m a new fan!

And I love this:

Take an active approach in finding music you love. Only you can find what you love. Immerse yourself in it. Buy the CD. Go to the show and meet your favorite artist afterwards. Tell them their music changed you. Support the artists whose work you adore.

Be passionate about music.

I agree, 100%.

bike to the store handmade sign

