garden in nj

I am honored to have been tagged by Hawk for this meme. And it feels a bit like doing a crossword puzzle, except not really. Anyone reading this who thinks it looks like fun should tag themselves.

Rules of the game:

The instructions say that each player starts with some random facts/habits about himself/herself. As you are tagged you need to post the rules and your responses on your own blog. At the end of your post, you need to choose some people to tag, list their names and, of course, leave them a comment, telling they have been tagged and they need to read your blog for more information.

A – Activist. Animal Rights, Environmental issues, Human Rights, pretty much you name it, I’m willing to put time and effort into a movement I connect with. Animal Rights, is, and I think always will be, at the heart of me, but that’s cool, because we’re all animals, and so that pretty much encompasses everything living, plus the earth we depend on for survival. Nah, I don’t think too big! It is just all connected, that’s all.

B – Blaze. My first dog. I miss her still.

C – Computer! 100% dependent. Work and social life.

D – Die Toten Hosen; my favorite german band, which I recently heard described as punk, but which I always thought of as industrial-lite.

E – Environment! Something else I’m 100% dependent on. Actually, this is something we are all 100% dependent on, like it or not.

F – French, a language I know a little of because I took two semesters of it while going back to school for computer science. It was my study break class, very relaxing compared to algorithms! I love this language, but Spanish always seems more practical because I want to do a lot of traveling in South America (and it is easier to find people to speak Spanish with) so my efforts have since gone into learning Spanish. Progress is slow!

G – Greece; I was there once for a few days, and just on the island of Corfu, where I stayed at the Pink Palace and drank vast amounts of Ouzo, a liquor I can’t recommend.

H – Hugh Jackman, Swordfish, the golfing-off-the-top-of-the-trailer scene? Lives forever in my memory.

I – Injara – Ethiopian fermented bread. divine. fantastic. Something I love, and can’t make, so I only have it when I’m out.

J – Jazz, something I listen to often.

K – boycotting them, long story!

L – Leanne! or Lelu. We’ve been friends for ages and she’s visiting this weekend. We’ll go on a tour of some covered bridges in maryland and take pictures and … well, we don’t have many plans yet, but we don’t need plans. We’re that kind of friend!

M – Maryland. Some of my favorite places in this area are there: Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary, Pangea, Red Emma’s and my favorite restaurant, Great Sage. Other than that, and the covered bridges, it is a place I drive through to get to Philly or NYC!

N – NaBloPoMo is something I have joined, a challenge for myself to post every day in the month of November. Be prepared to get sick of me!

O – oceans. I’ve only lived near one once, but I love them, and I crave them, and maybe someday I’ll live near one again.

P – photography, a love of mine.

Q – quiddich. If it was a real sport, it would be the one (and only) I’d watch. If I played it, I’d want to be a seeker.

R – Regensburg, Germany, a town I lived in for 6 months.

S – sunshine; I love it. I sometimes curl up in sunbeams just like a cat. In fact, I curl up in sunbeams with my cat.

T – Tempest, the cat of the avatar (and many other pictures), another love of mine.

U – uisge-beatha, water of life, whiskey. I had my first sip (and yes, I was of age) from a flask in Joshua Tree National Park while camping with a friend. I’ve loved it ever since, and am fascinated with the folktales they tell about it in Scotland. And it is the water of life. What is not to like about that?

V – vegan, I am.

W – wine. yum. Red is my favorite, but I enjoy both.

X – xeriscaping; something I’m interested in learning more about, because native and climate-appropriate plants are so much easier to grow and easier on the environment, and I always figure that if you don’t like the way the natural environment where you live looks, what are you doing living there?

Y – yoga, something I don’t do often enough, but which benefits me greatly when I do.

Z – Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance. A very interesting book, which I reread periodically.

If you tag yourself, let me know so I make sure to read it!

sayulito pelicans

