I don’t know what to call this recipe – in the cookbook it is called “Rice and corn congee” but I’m not sure what a congee is, and I added a lot more than rice or corn to it, so while it may have started as a rice and corn congee, it ended up being quite a bit more!

And it is always good to have forgiving recipes that can be used for whatever you have in your fridge or pantry that needs some using up. I made this with brown rice, which I cooked on the stovetop, so that was a 40 minute cooking time for that. Other than the rice, this recipe took about 10 minutes to throw together, and then I let it simmer for 20 minutes because I wanted the tofu to soak up loads of flavor.

1 cup rice
1 cup corn
4 shallots or 1 small onion, peeled and finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 inch piece of fresh ginger, grated
1/2 tsp crushed dried chilli
1 Tbsp groundnut oil (I used peanut, but you can use whatever oil you have on hand, groundnut or not)
3 cups vegetable stock
1 Tbsp soy sauce
2 rounded Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro (I skipped this, Rich will be happy to know!)
black pepper
extra cilantro (I skipped this too)

The other things I added:
1 small green pepper, diced
8 oz (half a package) extra firm tofu, cut into many small pieces
1 mild pepper (was it anaheim?)

Cook the rice, drain and set aside. Saute the garlic, ginger, and onions or shallots in the oil until softened. Add the cooked rice and the remaining ingredients, apart from the extra cilantro, and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer gently for about 15 – 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the mixture thickens. Spoon into serving bowls and garnish with the extra cilantro.

I think this could have used rice noodles instead of rice, and it would have been just as good! This is definitely a recipe that can be played with. As it was, it was nicely heated, and very flavorful. There is something about using fresh ginger that makes all the difference! And the remaining ginger can be frozen indefinitely (wrap it well).

condorito parque argentina

