Bloggers Unite - Blog Action Day

It is Blog Action Day, and the overall topic is the environment, something I talk enough about that I’m sure it isn’t a surprise that I’m talking about it yet again. Talking, reading, thinking, and talking more about it is an important aspect to the actions I think we should all be taking. We are introduced to ideas when someone talks to us about them. Or maybe we’ve read them, heard about it on the radio, overheard a conversation, however it happens, it starts with us listening. Maybe even listening to ourselves, to some inner cue that says “stop, pay attention, learn.”

And then we research and read and talk some more. There are always more questions, perspectives, additional issues to consider.

I have found a lot of people to be closed to the possibility that global climate change is here. Not that it might happen if we’re not careful, but that it is here, right now, that it is already happening. I understand why people don’t want to hear it. It is frightening.

What is going to happen? No one knows. Why can’t anyone explain what will happen, doesn’t that mean it isn’t real if all the experts can’t make predictions for us? Well, no. What it means is that we’re facing a situation that has never happened before. That all the research of the history of the earth hasn’t shown a similar situation to give us the first clue.

It doesn’t matter that the earth has gone through previous warming and cooling periods, very often happening precipitously. It isn’t that.

So what am I talking about? I’m talking about the vast numerous ways that humans have tampered with the earth. Changing things, removing the checks and balances, removing the earth’s ability to…well, to cope.

We’re screwing things up royally.

It isn’t just carbon, though that is mostly what I’ve been talking about so far. It is also the poisons we put into our environment. We put poisons in our water, somehow thinking that poison that will kill insects won’t affect us. Poison that will kill weeds won’t effect us. We’re wrong, of course. And yet we continue to do it. We listen to the producers of the poison, who care only about selling their poison so they stay in business. We know what their priority is, and yet we listen to them instead of playing it safe. We have stopped even thinking about the poisons we dump into our worlds, we turn a blind mind to what it might mean. To us, to our kids, to our companions, to the entire ecosystem that we depend on for life.

We’re compromising ourselves, and it baffles me that people believe the big corporations who tell them not to worry. The government agencies that are beholden to those same corporations reinforce that message, and we have apparently been trained to smile and nod our heads, and hope it goes away.

Even if you don’t believe me, if you don’t believe the mountains of scientific evidence that points to the conclusions that teams of highly educated critical thinkers have come to…even if you don’t believe any of us, the truth is that there is no harm to playing it safe, and making changes, and the potential for unviable and unchangable harm if we don’t.

So today, I’m advocating change on a personal level in the name of playing it safe. Read and think and evaluate and analyze, as a first step. Take a look at the lists that other people come up with of the changes they have made and see what you can do to reduce your carbon footprint, to reduce the poisons in your environment, to reduce the poisons you cause to be added to the environment. The funny thing about change? It is so much harder to imagine than it is to actually do.

I’m not saying that I’ve perfected my carbon footprint or completely eliminated waste and poison from my own life. Far from it. I’m working on it, though, I’m making changes as fast as I can educate myself on, and adapt my life to.

If I’m wrong, we’ll know in the next 20 or 30 years. If I’m right, we might know in the next 5. We don’t have time, and we don’t have another home to go to if we can no longer live in this one. The massive change that is needed is only possible if we all join in and work on it together. Rather than asking “what difference can one person make” ask “what harm can one person do, and therefore consciously avoid?” And then see that change is possible, and that it starts with each of us.

flowers condo

