You’ve heard the starfish story, right? The one about the young kid walking along the beach at low tide, picking up each stranded starfish and flinging it into the ocean. An older man sees him doing this and says “you know you can’t save them all, so what is the point?” And the wise young kid says, “I might not be able to save them all, but to the ones I save, it is everything.”

Or something like that.

Sometimes that story is about all that keeps me going, lets me face the horrible things I force myself to face because I can’t not. Knowing that one of my biggest frustrations is the blank stares, the turning away, the closing of the ears and of the mind because everyone knows these things are horrible, and no one wants to think about it.

I get that, I do.

Monty is one of my starfish.

monty psas

