No, really, I’ve just been a boring blogger, and though my lack of concentration continues, I’m going to blog anyway. Thought the title should come as a warning!

So, to start off my randomness: if you’ve heard that cinnamon is an ant repellent, it is true! Or, at least, so far tonight, it is working. My beloved Tempest is clumsy, and this is as true when she’s eating as when she’s jumping or “weaving” (aka, knocking over everything in her path). So drips and drops of food surround her dish. I have a placemat of sorts for this purpose, but she delicately avoids the placemat in favor of dripping and dropping her bits on the floor.

The ants have discovered this bounty.

At first I would get my mini broom and sweep them up to relocate them outside. This was tiring and annoying. Then I thought, if they make two daily pilgrimages, I can live with that. They did seem to disappear once they had relocated the dribblings, after all. Into my wall, perhaps; I didn’t inquire, since there are some things I figure I’m better off not knowing.

Today, however, Tempest didn’t finish her breakfast. So when I got home from work, her dish was crowded with ants. Freaking out (I don’t want to kill them, but it doesn’t mean I actually enjoy living with them), I hustled the dish outside and relocated the chunks of food and many ants to the grass outside my patio.

Enough is enough! I had heard about the wonders of cinnamon – apparently ants are really not fond of it. So, feeling a bit like I was preparing to make an invocation of sorts, I drew a cinnamon circle around Tempest’s food and dripping area.

So far so good. Cinnamon! Excellent in hot chocolate, oatmeal cookies, pumpkin pie, and surrounding your messy cat’s dish!

I guess that was longer than a snapshot.

heh.

A few months ago the barrista guy, who I really think could potentially be veganizable (and yes, I think this way), mentioned a book that had a big influence on him. “The unbearable lightness of being.” Possibly it was made into a movie? I’m not sure how it could be, having started reading it, but either way, I know I’ve heard the name quite a bit. Oddly he seemed to see a connection to that and a story that was big in the news at the time, about that polar bear cub at the Berlin Zoo. Knut, I think his name was. (the cub’s)

Anyway, I’m finding it an interesting read so far. One thought-provoking quote:

Let us therefore agree that the idea of eternal return implies a perspective from which things appear other than as we know them: they appear without the mitigating circumstance of their transitory nature. This mitigating circumstance prevents us from coming to a verdict. For how can we condemn something that is ephemeral, in transit? In the sunset of dissolution, everything is illuminated by the aura of nostalgia, even the guillotine.

The name of the book is explained in a round about way; it apparently comes from a philosophy of Nietzsche, the idea of eternal return. If eternal return doesn’t exist, is just a myth, that changes things. And the title explained:

If eternal return is the heaviest of burdens, then our lives can stand out against it in all their splendid lightness.

But is heaviness truly deplorable and lightness splendid?

The heaviest of burdens crushes us, we sink beneath it, it pins us to the ground. But in the love poetry of every age, the woman longs to be weighed down by the man’s body. The heaviest of burdens is therefor simultaneously an image of life’s most intense fulfillment. The heavier the burden, the closer our lives come to the earth, the more real and truthful they become.

Conversely, the absolute absence of a burden causes man to be lighter than air, to soar into the heights, take leave of the earth, and his earthly being, and become only half real, his movements as free as they are insignificant.

So there you go. The unbearable lightness of being; the life that is doomed not to repeat, to be therefore insignificant in its freedom from responsibility.

I’ve only just started the book. It will be interesting to see how this is developed.

I thought that would be a short blurb too. Maybe my brain has been tired because I’ve been keeping things in!

I decided last night that I would try to go to sleep early. Meaning at 11, getting a potential whopping 6.5 hours of sleep instead of my normal 4-5. What an exhausting attempt. First of all, I couldn’t get to sleep, a rare occurrence for me. Then I had some odd dreams, and I think I woke up before my alarm, which made me quite cranky. Finally my alarm went off, and I stumbled out of bed, exhausted. I think 4-5 hours of sleep is a lot more restful.

pps view

