Growing up we had some strawberry plants every year that took care of themselves, and which we simply had to enjoy the fruit from when we remembered to get to them in time. My mom did some gardening otherwise, but not all that much.

I’ve started to get serious about growing some of my own food this year. Right now it is all in containers, which I hope to turn into raised beds. Maybe tomorrow – my other plans for tomorrow look like they might be rescheduled due to weather issues. So mostly I have plants growing in containers, and that is not the best thing for someone like me, who often forgets things like watering plants.

I’ve managed to keep them alive so far, and I was very excited to realize yesterday that my tomato plant has a tomato growing! This makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I spent a few mintues gazing lovingly at the plant, and the flowers that mean other tomatoes to come. One of my other plants is growing like crazy, and I don’t even remember what it is. Cucumbers, I hope. My green bell pepper plant is looking pretty good, though still too small to be producing anything, and my jalapeno pepper plant has a bunch of flowers, and I’m excited to see how they turn out.

The number in my head, from Food Not Lawns, is that a 25 sqare foot garden can grow 100 lbs of food per year. I’m using maybe five square feet right now, and based on that I think the FNL number is quite accurate, maybe even conservative!

tomato!

